Join us in conversation: "Contemporary Black Women in Popular Culture"

DCstatehoodcontingent520x300

Please join us for tonight's CPUSA teleconference celebrating African American History Month.   The topic is "Contemporary Black Women in Popular Culture, 'Real' Culture, and Everything in Between" with teacher/film maker Tokumbo Bodunde.

Date: Tuesday, February 21, Time: 8 pm EST, 7 pm CST, 5 pm PST  

Call 605-475-4850 access code 1053538# at the prompt.  

Join us for a conversation with Tokumbo Bodunde, who will talk about recent images and stories about black women in the mainstream media in relation to black women's lived realities and material conditions.   Check out PeoplesWorld.org and Political Affairs for continued coverage throughout African American History Month.   Please pass the word and invite friends to join us on the call.

Photo: From Jobs Not Cuts march in Washington D.C., October 15, 2011 (PW/Margeret Baldridge)

Post your comment

Comments are moderated. See guidelines here.

Comments

  • We are looking to develop a site dedicated to the women who have ruled since the beginning of times, or as long as the sources date back.

    Posted by women, 08/16/2012 8:09pm (2 years ago)

  • From the real life character, Josie, in W. E. B. Du Bois's Souls of Black Folk, to Claudia Jones and Shirley Graham Du Bois, and now Angela Yvonne Davis, African American womanhood continues to play a major role in world and human affairs.
    The female gender and its place as militant fighter and yet nurturer, brutally exploited, oppressed and despised, will yet take a primal role in establishing humanity as such.
    Nothing can stop this integral role, this destiny.
    This, ironically, is the truest liberation of the male, who should be the first to lay down his life for his mother.
    All of us would count our true mother, Africa.

    Posted by E.E.W. Clay, 02/22/2012 9:59am (3 years ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments