Loading Events

The Marxist Classes: China — From Hunger and Famine to Feeding Everyone

 

September 26 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

In 2021 China announced the elimination of extreme poverty, a historic accomplishment of socialism.  Speakers from China and the USA will discuss the conditions of old China before the victory of the revolution in 1949: destitution, illiteracy, and violence, as well as imperialist invasion and occupation.  This will be followed by a discussion of today’s successful poverty alleviation program and the role of the Chinese Communist Party.  The class will end with Q&A and discussion.

Speakers will include Shen Ting, North American Bureau of CPC International Department; Norman Markowitz, Rutgers University;  and Luo Xiaoping, a sociologist from North China Electrical Power University.

Date: Sunday, Sept. 26, 2021

Time: 8 PM eastern, 7 PM central, 5 PM pacific

Register here to attend and receive a recording.

 

Suggested Readings:

 

China Daily, chart with basic statistics on poverty and education, 1950s-2020
Tricontinental Institute, “Serve the People, the Eradication of Extreme Poverty in China”
Qiao Collective, “What Does It Mean to Eradicate Absolute Poverty”

China Global Television Network video (15 minutes) on CPC cadre’s work in poverty alleviation

Image: China Global Television Network.

Comments

Details

Date:
September 26
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category:

Organizers

CPUSA Education Commission
CPUSA Peace & Solidarity Commission

Venue

Online/Phone Meeting
Online/Phone Only United States + Google Map

Comments