Loading Events

Edna Griffin and the struggle for civil rights: 1946-1980

 
  • This event has passed.

March 6 @ 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

 

Join us this Saturday for a webinar on civil rights leader Edna Griffin.

Edna Griffin was a tireless fighter for civil rights in Iowa from the 1940s through the 1990s, winning many battles including most notably the fight against discrimination well before Rosa Parks. Learn about the fight for civil rights in the state of Iowa, both in the past and how it informs the current struggle, from local teacher Noah Lawrence, noted civil rights and community organizer Joe Henry, and Des Moines Black Lives Matter (BLM) co-founder Matè Farrakhan Muhammad.

Edna Griffin and the Struggle for Civil Rights: 1946–1980

Date: Saturday, March 6
Time: 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, 4:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Pacific

Register here. This event will be a webinar via Zoom and live-streamed on YouTube. Prior to the event, learn more about Ms. Griffin’s life here.

 

Image: Courtesy of Fort Des Moines Museum and Education Center (source and owner of photo).

 

Comments

Details

Date:
March 6
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Event Category:

Organizers

Claudia Jones School for Political Education
People’s World

Venue

Online/Phone Meeting
Online/Phone Only United States + Google Map

Comments