Loading Events

Elizabeth Gurley Flynn’s “My Life as a Political Prisoner”

 
  • This event has passed.

January 11 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

 

Scholar and activist Mary Anne Trasciatti will present the new edition of Elizabeth Gurley Flynn’s second book, My Life as a Political Prisoner: The Rebel Girl Becomes “No, 11710,” originally entitled, The Alderson Story.  Trasciatti’s foreword to this edition depicts Flynn’s narrative as one that deserves a wider audience in its detailed accounts of life in an increasingly militarized women’s prison and a clarion cry for prison reform.

Originally published by International Publishers (which also has published this reissue) in 1963, six years after her release from prison, Flynn’s narrative begins with her arrest at the hands of three FBI agents who stormed into her family’s New York City apartment in 1951. The book however, is not just about the Cold War, anti-Communism, or the Smith Act, but rather an indictment of the treatment of incarcerated offenders. “Republication of her Alderson memoir couldn’t come at a more opportune moment . . . Read it. Critique it. Share it. And all hail the rebel Elizabeth Gurley Flynn,” writes Trasciatti.

Date: Monday, January 11
Time: 8 PM Eastern Time, 7 PM Central, 5 PM Pacific

To attend this Zoom webinar, RSVP to Adam Meyer: VitoMarcantonioForum@gmail.com

 

Comments

Details

Date:
January 11
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category:

Organizers

Claudia Jones School for Political Education
The Vito Marcantonio Forum

Venue

Online/Phone Meeting
Online/Phone Only United States + Google Map

Comments